Entities review by Malefice

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 20, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.9 (7 votes)
Malefice: Entities

Sound — 9
Formed in 2003, Malefice are fast becoming a metal power to be reckoned with, with their debut album release of 'Entities'. The album opens with a deceivingly calm instrumental 'Empirical Proof (part one)' but then throws you into a hectic worlwind of driving metal riffs and a frenzy of insane kick drumming. Malefice really homing in on the same kind of sound as Chimaira as the album truly picks up speed with it's 1st real track 'Risen through the Ashes'. The hole album is a burst of speed and excitement with a grate show of the capability to write amazing driving riffs but also to write calm music that that brakes into a fast frenzy of music like in the song 'Traitor to all you Know' which opens with a clam mix of acoustic guitars but brakes in to a set of mad heavy riffs. The real climax of the sound of the album comes in the middle of the song 'Dreams without Courage' with a change in vocals from provided by Justin hill (Sikth) giving the song drive but also a carrying melody. The entire album will just leave you shocked with its immenseness.

Lyrics — 8
Although the lyrics on this album can, at some points, be extremely hard to make out the singing style fits with the music every well and helps to drive the music. The themes of the lyrics vary from breaking out and rising to become stronger (Risen through the Ashes) to being betrayed (Traitor to all you Know). The album could have done with some more points, like in 'Dreams without Courage', where the singing style is change to create contrast because although the scream effect drives the music the clear vocal part in 'Dreams without Courage' and the small part in 'A world deceased' adds an extra edge to the song.

Overall Impression — 9
Overall the entire album is a grate show of how music should be taken back to being about the riffs and brutal drumming used to drive the music. The truly outstanding songs from the album have to be 'Risen through the Ashes' with its brilliant kick drum intro, 'Dreams without Courage' with it's contrasting vocal parts that add something extra to the song, 'Traitor to all you Know' with it's calm intro that breaks into a mad show of power and 'Horizon Burns' with it's lack of speed to it's intro that turns into a driving song. This album is possible the best album iv ever bought excluding 'Master of puppets', it's music you can really get into and that you can feel in every part of your body and if it was lost or stolen I would buy it again within the hour of losing it. All in all I think we are going to see grate things from Malefice in the future.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date