Neck And Neck review by Mark Knopfler & Chet Atkins

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (1 vote)
Mark Knopfler & Chet Atkins: Neck And Neck

Sound — 10
Released September 1990, Neck and Neck is among both artists best recordings to date. Two guitar titans have formed to make an incredible team. A range of instruments complement a range of musical genres like country, blues and a hint of rockabilly. You can hear guitars, a beautiful sounding acoustic piano and the traditional countrified lap steel. The sound is nothing less than you would expect these mammoths of guitarists.

Lyrics — 8
One problem, tons of covers such as Roy Buchanan's 'Sweet Dreams' and a more traditional 'Poor Boy Blues'. However the covers are as good as the originals. A fantastic version of 'There'll Be Some Changes Made' appears with parody lyrics and speaking parts by both Knopfler and Atkins. Also, you get a Chet classic, 'Yakety Axe' a fast paced, joyful country tune. To add to this, Knopfler's 'Next Time I'm In Town' country ballad includes some wonderful harmony and guitar picking.

Overall Impression — 9
It would be impossible to rate this down. I'm really trying to find something wrong with it but I can't. This disc will put you onto country music for life, if it doesn't, you need your ears cutting off. Just by listening to a few tracks, you feel the need to pick up a guitar and play. The amount of times I have just sat and jammed to this record are uncountable and I would recommend it to anyone.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date