Whats Going On review by Marvin Gaye

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 20, 1971
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Marvin Gaye: Whats Going On

Sound — 8
In this 1971 concept album Marvin really cements his reputation as a soul icon as he injects inner-city jazz and heavy rhythms into his already established R&B foundation. Bass legend James Jamerson is the driving force musically on this album, his funky lines provide an inspired contrast to Marvins passionate cries.

Lyrics — 10
This album is essentially a reference to the Vietnam Conflict, which at the time of this albums release (1971) was at its horrible peak. The listner can expect passionate falsetto mixed with raw energy as Marvin gives tribute and compassion to an America troubled by the unwanted war.

Overall Impression — 10
From start to epic finish this is possibly the most faultless music I have ever heard. Marvin hits a personal peak and the all-star Motown supporting cast are typically excellent. Stand out tracks have to include the much-sampled 'Inner City Blues' and the dreamy swinger 'Mercy Mercy Me.' Recently Motown have released a deluxe edition of this album and have remastered the sound and added an entire second CD of extra material so if the price is right this may be the best option.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Wow, isn't that hilarious Fabbi? This album is flawless, it really and truely is. There is no other album that can best this.