More Than You Think You Are review by Matchbox Twenty

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 19, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.9 (10 votes)
Matchbox Twenty: More Than You Think You Are

Sound — 10
Coming back with another huge selling album, the guys at matchbox twenty pull of some major changes in styles and sound from their previous albums, Yourself or Someone Like You and Mad Season. Flowing the end of Mad Season to a very rocky start with the track "Feel", where lead man Rob Thomas sounds angry enough to start a war. With a lot of changes in sound styles throughout the album they still get 5 stars for sound, as Kyle Cook, lead guitarist brings in some catchy riffs to keep the listener tuned in for more of the album.

Lyrics — 10
Yet again Rob Thomas, lead singer, has pulled of extra-ordinary lyrics, writing with such passion, about love, life and all that is dragged along with it. This is made clear in songs like "Bright Lights" and "Unwell", already making huge progress in the US Charts. The more depressing the lyrics, the more depressing the sound, with Kyle Cook creating some heart-wrenching riffs and solos. Rob Thomas' performance in singing has changed so dramatically, singing as if the world will end tomorrow, he certainly has helped the band become possibly one of the most succesful bands in the US at the present moment.

Overall Impression — 10
There is nothing more that can be said apart from the fact this is a phenomenonal 3rd album with so much passion, hard work and skill poured into it. You can hear it all over the tracks. The most impressive song on the album is not an easy choice as they all, in their own way are great, however, if I was to recommend a song from the album, it would have to be "Bright Lights". The song is packed with Rob's emotional words, his piano playing, Kyle's solo's and Paul's passion on the drums. This is definitely a "Must Buy" for anyone looking for a passionate rock band, and as Kyle Cook, lead guitarist stated "Don't Just Hear It...Feel It"

0 comments sorted by best / new / date