Tales Told By Dead Friends review by Mayday Parade

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 7, 2006
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (11 votes)
Mayday Parade: Tales Told By Dead Friends

Sound — 8
As suggested by the album title, Mayday Parade's debut album emancipates overwhelming sorrow, divulged by heartfelt and nostalgic tracks. The 6 track album is a collection of tales about despair, angush, and broken-heartedness. So it's no surprise that these friends of them no longer exist. Most songs exhibit sadness through the dainty and sweet guitar riffs, and by the 2 emotionally disturbed vocalists. If you want sentiental moments an lamentations, you should hear this.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics were of course, sad. And each song tells a sad story. One man drinking games tells of a man sharing his final moments with his girl. He bids goodbye, then looks back at the melliflous past as he shots a toast for himself. 3 cheers for 5 years is bout a 5-year(perhaps) relationship ruined by a #2 on their anniversary. While The Last Something that meant anything was about a tragic break-up story. The 2 vocalists did a great job of emphasizing that dismal feeling, though I like the sweet-voiced dude rather thn the rough-voiced one.

Overall Impression — 9
It was woeful. An album comprised of sentiental dismay and downcast. The tracks are cool and nostalgic, and I loved the tracks The Last Something That Meant Anything, One-Man Drinking Games and Just Say You're Not Into It. Mayday parade will penetrate through the hearts of the broken with their melancholic album, "Tales Told By Dead Friends".

2 comments sorted by best / new / date