Countdown to Extinction review by Megadeth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 27, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (171 votes)
Megadeth: Countdown to Extinction

Sound — 10
Megadeth's sound on this album is pure heavy metal and goes down a treat. The remastered sound quality is brilliant - every instrument is clear. The sound is only bad on one track - Symphony of Destruction - where Dave Mustaine's vocals over power the instruments. Other than that, it's perfect! Here are the track ratings: 01. Skin O' My Teeth - 8/10 02. Symphony Of Destruction - 8/10 (this song is amazing but the version on this album is let down because the vocals are too loud. Don't fear though, the amazing version can be found on Capitol Punishment: The Megadeth Years.) 03. Architecture Of Aggression - 10/10 (best track on the album) 04. Foreclosure Of A Dream - 8/10 05. Sweating Bullets - 8/10 06. This Was My Life - 8/10 07. Countdown To Extinction - 10/10 (very moving) 08. High Speed Dirt - 8/10 09. Psychotron - 9/10 10. Captive Honour - 9/10 11. Ashes In Your Mouth - 9/10.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on this album are the best lyrics Mustaine has ever penned. From the aggressive 'Symphony Of Destruction' (just like the Piper Piper, led rats through the streets) to the moving 'Countdown To Extinction' (all are gone, all but one, no contest nowhere to run), the quality of the lyrics never fall below 9/10. Just to prove that the lyrics are top notch, the title track even won the coveted Genesis Award, which is an award for most humane song. A lot of people say the only thing wrong with Megadeth is Mustaine's singing style, but I've always loved it and its great on this album as usual.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall, this is the second best Megadeth album - Rust In Peace is slightly better. But second is great when you consider Megadeth have released a total of 9 records! This album is often compared to Metallica's Black Album because they were released at the same time, but let me tell you one thing: the Black Album is completely rubbish compared to this masterpiece! The most impressive songs are the title track, Architecture Of Aggression and Symphony Of Destruction. The bonus tracks are a welcome selection of demos and an unreleased track penned by Diamond Head! If this were stolen, I wouldn't hesitate to hunt down the thieves and torture them till they gave it back.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date