So Far, So Good... So What! review by Megadeth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1988
  • Sound: 3
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 4
  • Reviewer's score: 4.3 Poor
  • Users' score: 8.6 (126 votes)
Megadeth: So Far, So Good... So What!

Sound — 3
The riffs in these songs and the pure "shreddingness" of the whole record are actually some of the better of Megadeth's work. The guitar and drum work here have nothing to complain about, it's really the poorly executed arrangments and vocal work and "muddy" sounding production that really puts down what could have been another classic album added to the Megadeth collection.

Lyrics — 6
The Lyrics here for Megadeth are actually the best thing about this record, probably even the band's best but the way they are delivered are the poorest the vocalist Dave Mustaine has ever delivered. However, there are some spots in some songs where they are given justice like in the chorus of "In My Darkest Hour". But overall, the vocals come off as either forced, immature, poor sound quality, not loud enough, or all of the above. It's also no coincidence that the recording of this record was when the band were most heavily involved in drugs as it shows in much of the vocal work of Dave Mustaine. Songs like "502" and "Liar" have immature lyrics and poorly executed vocal work. Other than those the rest of the lyrics are pretty good.

Overall Impression — 4
This is clearly one of Megadeth's worst albums up there with "Cryptic Writings", "The World needs a Hero", and the god-awful "Risk". The only thing this album has going for it is that it's one of the four old school Megadeth albums and true sounding thrash metal records in Megadeth's catalog before they went to the mainstream sound of "Countdown to Extinction", not to say either sound is good or bad, it's just that this album has more nostalgic value over "Countdown to Extinction" does, even though "CTE" is a much better album than "SFSGSW". The best songs of this record is the opening instrumental "Into the Lungs of Hell", the next track "Set the World Afire" and the dark moody ballad "In my Darkest Hour". The closer track "Hook in Mouth" is not too shabby either. The worst ones were the dreadful "502" and the cover song "Anarchy in the U.K." which comes off as if it was meant to be the main track off the album held at the track #3 position. It really has not one "great" song on the record, just a bunch of "okay" and "pretty good" ones. There is nothing special about the whole album and could have been/should have been a whole lot better. Below average for Megadeth standards.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date