The System Has Failed review by Megadeth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 14, 2004
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 9.1 (147 votes)
Megadeth: The System Has Failed

Sound — 6
When I first heard this album I was apalled, but after just sitting down and listening to it I loved it. The sound is not typical Megadeth, which is one of the downsides, but it has a good sound to it. It's tremendous writing, but its not thrash metal. Background singing and effects sometimes ruin the guitar as well.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are definetely Dave Mustaine, with talk of government on a couple of the tracks. Some of the lyrics are cheesy but overall I really like them. His singing skills are still great, but in the some of the songs I just wish he'd shut up the background singing, it's terrible.

Overall Impression — 8
It doesn't compare to other Megadeth albums. I'm used to being able to listen to all the songs on Megadeth cds, but on this one its kind of dull. "Kick The Chair" is an outstanding song, I'd compare to "Take No Prisoners" and "Tears In A Vial" is very catchy. If it were stolen I would buy it again, it's worth the money.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date