Youthanasia review by Megadeth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 24, 1994
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (73 votes)
Megadeth: Youthanasia

Sound — 10
Youthanasia is the sixth album from Megadeth and it is one of their best. The sound is very different from earlier albums as all of the songs are a lot slower however this does not make them any worse than previous songs. Marty Friedman and Dave Mustaine handle the guitars well and the drums and base are solid throughout.

Lyrics — 9
Mostly the lyrics on these tracks are excellent. The song 'A Tout Le Monde' is a great example of this, the song is about suicide. The last song on the album, 'victory' has a different style as the lyrics are made up of previous megadeth song titles. Dave Mustaine is quite a good singer and his snarly voice fits in well with the style of music.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is a solid effort with some of Megadeths greatest songs. The obvious standouts on this album are 'A Tout Le Monde' and 'Train Of Consequences' however the title track and 'Addicted To Chaos' are also very impressive. If this album were stolen, I would definitely buy it again or get someone else to buy it for me! Hats of to Megadeth, a great album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date