Kill 'Em All review by Metallica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 25, 1983
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (346 votes)
Metallica: Kill 'Em All

Sound — 10
This is a straight up trash metal record, and also one of the first of it's kind. Influenced by the sounds of the NWOBHM, Metallica produced a masterful debut album. Although the whole CD was speed track after speed track after speed track, with no ballads or anything of the sort in sight, I consider this one of my all-time favourite albums. And I LOVE ballads, so that should tell you something right there. Also, just the fact that in many tracks [I'm lookin' at you, "Four Horsemen"] the bass is just as loud as the guitar is, adds to the over quality and impression this album gives.

Lyrics — 8
James Hetfield, need I say more? The Metallica frontman has spit out some of the best lyrics the metal scene [or any scene for that matter] has ever heard. Just listen to Motorbreath, and bow to the master.

Overall Impression — 10
The most impressive songs on this album would definatley be "Hit the Lights", "The Four Horsemen", and "Motorbreath", without a doubt. The only thing I can say about this album that I don't like is the lack of clean guitars. Slow songs make fast songs actually sound fast, and after a while of listening, don't be surprised if you think "Whiplash" could be considered a slow song. If it were stolen I would definatley buy another copy. Wait.. nevermind, because I already bought 10 :D

0 comments sorted by best / new / date