Metallica review by Metallica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 3, 1991
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.7 (1,307 votes)
Metallica: Metallica

Sound — 10
What can i say? A musical masterpiece that influenced many-a-wannabe! The album is close to perfection (not quite master of puppets), the quality of Riff in this album is as good as it gets for the 90's. The disappointing thing is, that this was the start of a Creative decline for the Boys in Black. But, don't let this deterr from the musical quality of the CD! The album is much simpler than it's recent predecessor "AJFA" the song structure is more condensed, and the songs for this improve in variation and quality. The song is also filled with classic 90's rock anthems. Enter Sandman and The Unforgiven and Nothing Else Matters typify this.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics... Nothing short of Superb! The Unforgiven's eerie feel, suits the lyrics perfectly, and Nothing Else Matters Demonstates James' Softer side. My Friend Of Misery and Sad but True are typically Metallica songs.. with Angry lyrics and crunching riffs. Above all the album ventures into many different lyrical styles!

Overall Impression — 10
The album is fantastic! But it's still not the best! It's pretty hard to top an album like Master... But in this installment.. Metallica have given it a damn good go! If you don't already own this album.. then BUY IT! Because Metallica have created well... the best thrash albums ever! And this is a fantastic offering for those looking more towards a more "Softer" sounding metallica compared to other efforts!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date