Reload review by Metallica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 18, 1997
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.4 (198 votes)
Metallica: Reload

Sound — 8
People slate this album and rightly so, it is by far Metallica's worst album by a very long distance. The only problem is that still makes it a very good record. The soloing is spectacular as is most o the singing buit like "...And Justice For All." The bass is manily not there other than "Devils Dance." It is a mix of glorious metal and crappy alternate rock (btw, alternate rock rules as much as metal).

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics split into about 3 catergoires. The good (Unforgiven 2, Devils Dance, Carpe Diem Baby, Memory Remains, Fixxer, Where The Wild Things Are, Low Mans Lyric), The bad (Better Than You, Slither, Bad Seed) and the ugly (Fuel, Attitude, Prince Charming). The vocals are generally good and fit the songs very well.

Overall Impression — 9
It is a bad Metallica album but many bands would be happy with an album of this quality, it has hugle guitar solos and monster riffs and the odd lyrical gem to boot. But these are let down by songs like Fuel, Slither and Attitude.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    metOLIca has posted a master of puppets review under reload, he is an idiot, and puppets is worth a ten accross the board
    For your info Metolica Newstead was not in Metallica on Master of Puppets Cliff Burton was still the friggin bassist (R.I.P.).