Ride the Lightning review by Metallica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1984
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (1,748 votes)
Metallica: Ride the Lightning

Sound — 10
This album is great! This was my first Metallica CD purchase and it is worth it. It's got songs like Ride The Lightning, Fade To Black, For Whom The Bell Tolls and many more. It also features the instrumental Call Of Ktulu, which shows how great of artists they are. I love metal music especially from the '80s so I'd call this a Metallica must.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on this album are awesome. Fade To Black is probably my favorite song lyricwise, and Creeping Death, whoever thought about writing a song about moses. James Hetfield has a way to express his demons through his songs. Probably 90% of the reason why Metallica had so many hits is because people can relate to the lyrics.

Overall Impression — 10
All in all this album is great. The only bad thing I think is that it's not as heavy as Kill'Em All but every band has some change in their sound over time. I strongly recommend this album to Metallica fans and espiring guitarist, drummers and bassist. (Cliff Burton RIP).

0 comments sorted by best / new / date