S&M review by Metallica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 23, 1999
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (87 votes)
Metallica: S&M

Sound — 9
A highly criticised album. Screw anyone who said that! It is an album with some of Metallica's best songs played with the San Francisco Symphony. The album has a really new sound for the world of rock. I never before thought of idea -- the worlds greatest band with an world-class symphony. The symphony gives a new feel to the metallica songs and is a absolutely amazing and new feel. Some of the songs are enhanced while some are not. The violas etc. give a nice sound to the songs and create a nice feeling.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics on the albums are practically the same as the original songs wiht a few changes here and there. The lyrics on this album are exceptional as they are the greatest Metallica songs. James Hetfield has a different voice for this album and sings many of the songs in a different manner and style, like Nothing Else Matters.

Overall Impression — 9
It is defenitely a really good album with some of Metallica's greatest songs redone. Some songs are better than the original while some are not. New songs which are better Nothing Else Matters, Until It Sleeps, Wherever I May Roam, Sad But True and a few others. Original songs which are better One, Master Of Puppets, For Whom The Bell Tolls, Battery, etc.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date