Blood On The Dancefloor review by Michael Jackson

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 20, 1997
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 9.5 (11 votes)
Michael Jackson: Blood On The Dancefloor

Sound — 8
Blood on the dancefloor is mostly an album of dance remixes of tracks from previous record "History", but does contain 5 previously unreleased, totally new songs. The new material has the similar "new jack swing", hard-edged funk sound of the "Dangerous" and "History" albums, the highlight being the title track, a fiendish club banger thats an underrated gem. I would personally rank it among the best uptempo songs Jackson ever did alongside the likes of "Billie Jean" and "Smooth Criminal". The rest of the album is less essential. "Morphine" is an attempt at an anthemic heavy rocker and isn't bad, although it feels a little formulaic compared to Jacksons best work, same with "Superfly sister". The only really innovative riff is fan favourite "Ghosts", but even this slots neatly into the new jack swing genre. This is the first album where Jackson failed to show any considerable progression or change, but having said that, nothing here is any worse than what can be found in the latter part of History. The remixes are a mixed bag, no pun intended. In most cases they are interesting versions, but I would rather listen to the originals eight times out of ten. My favourites are the ones that I didn't particually rate in the first place, like "Money" and "History", which are actually greatly improved. Similarly, people who hated marmite track "Scream" will probably prefer "Scream louder", with its James Brown style horns, but fans of the song will stay loyal to the original. The ballads "you are not alone" and "Stranger in Moscow" surprisingly work as dance remixes, if you treat them as entirely new tracks and don't make comparisons to the originals. Less successful is "Earth song", which is just the same as the original but with an obnoxious jungle beat added, which only serves to take the atmosphere and dynamics out of the track, which were its strength in the first place.

Lyrics — 7
Many have commented on "Blood" being easily Jacksons darkest album, addressing drug addiction, ghosts, promiscuity, betrayal and predatary lovers. Some even interpreted the "Suzie" in B.O.T.D.F as being a metaphor for AIDs. It is nearly a concept album. However, I have to say that "Superfly sister" isn't strong lyrically, its message expressed a little crudely, and "Is it scary" continues the same lyrics as "Ghosts", which becomes a bit tedious, although the song is a grower musically.

Overall Impression — 8
B.O.T.D.F is the odd album out, which is why I chose to review it. To casual fans who are sick of the obvious hits and are ready for further listening, I would direct you more towards "Invincible", or "Off the wall" if the early disco stuff is more your love, as "Bad", "Dangerous" and "Thriller" get covered fairly comprehensively on greatest hits compilations. Only the title track is essential, and arguably "Ghosts", so download these. But having said that, this is not a bad album by any means, it is just not a career highlight for an artist known as the king of pop, but it is a decent album of its kind. Even this holds a record: it is the biggest selling remix album of all time!

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I think this album, remixes aside (although some like the Scream remix are pretty great) is so good. The new songs are spectacular. Superfly Sister is more of a dance song I guess and it's one of the best dance songs I've ever heard. Morphine I find is great, Is It Scary, fabulous same with Ghosts.Blood On The Dance Floor is one of the best songs of the 90s imo. One of Mj's best songs
    I LOVE THIS ALBUM! ...not so much the remixes, because I think its a crime to remix perfection, but still! I love Morphine...THe changes in mood and tempo are just GENIUS....the world lost a true gem.