Broken Bracelet review by Michelle Branch

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 1, 2000
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.4 (19 votes)
Michelle Branch: Broken Bracelet

Sound — 8
Folk Rock, Acoustic Pop, Pop-Rock. This is Michelle's first independent album, so the sound isn't 100% studio perfect. A mostly acoustic album with some more electric in songs like Paper Pieces and Sweet Misery. Some songs are more upbeat like Washing Machine, while others are slower like Leap of Faith and Second Chances. The guitar playing isn't terrible, but it also isn't to impressive. Michelle Branh has the abilty though to take simple chords and play them just right to get a very beautiful acoustic sound. Some of the songs on Broken Bracelet are her earlier versions of songs on The Spirit Room like Sweet Misery, Good-bye to You, I'd Rather Be In Love, and If Only She Knew.

Lyrics — 8
These lyrics are well written for the 15 year old she was at the time. Songs are mostly about relationships, while the sadder Second Chances is about making a big mistake and regretting the consequences. I'll always Be Right There is another non-relationship song. She blends more depressing lyrics with appropiate slower guitar parts. Her singing could have been better, it sounds like at that point in her life she didn't find her voice yet. Her most poetic lyrics are probably in Washing Machine.

Overall Impression — 8
These are Michelle Branch's early songs stripped down to just her and the acoustic. It shows she had an earlier start then most people think and the true artist she is among pop music. I like the fact that the acoustic is mostly used, you get to hear a bit more of her guitar playing. The best songs on the album are Stewart's Coat, Leap of Faith, Second Chances, and I'd Rather Be In Love. I reccomend this CD to anyone who wants a good acoustic album or would want to hear more from a talented female guitar player and song-writer.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date