Fuck Machine! review by Mindless Self Indulgence

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 14, 2014
  • Sound: 5
  • Lyrics: 4
  • Overall Impression: 5
  • Reviewer's score: 4.7 Poor
  • Users' score: 2.6 (8 votes)
Mindless Self Indulgence: Fuck Machine!

Sound — 5
Mindless Self Indulgence has earned a formidable reputation for their unique sound, which incorporates strong elements of the punk rock, electronica, techno and hardcore genres. It is this same mixed style, as well as the band's creative choice in song titles and album artwork, which earned Mindless Self Indulgence a dedicated fan following throughout their seventeen year career. Their debut studio album "Tight" made its way onto record store shelves back in 1999, which alongside a selection of expletively named tracks also included a creative cover of hip-hop artist Method Man's radio hit "Bring the Pain."

The following year marked the release of Mindless Self Indulgence's second effort, "Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy," which musically followed the lead of the band's previous release. Established fans who have followed the band's multiple studio ventures throughout the years have been able to enjoy the fact that Mindless Self Indulgence make a conscious effort to remain true to their own signature style which decorated their earlier releases. While the stylistic combinations may seem bizarre to most, it was also a quality of the band's music which followers could depend upon. This trend continues with Mindless Self Indulgence's new compilation album, the cleverly titled "F--k Machine!"

Don't come into this album planning to hear some revolutionary change in style or child friendly lyrical content. In fact, Mindless Self Indulgence's latest effort isn't unlike anything they've done before, mainly because the album is comprised of eleven different remixes of the title track, which originally appeared on the group's 2013 studio album, "How I Learned to Stop Giving a Sh-t and Love Mindless Self Indulgence." This album shows how just one song can be affected in so many different ways, depending solely on who is behind the mix. For example, the "IJU Remix" provides the song with a racing electronic tempo filled with various computer generated noises, whereas the "Scandinavian C-ck Mix" is driven by punk rock distorted guitar.

The "Flock of Jimmy Remix" places the song at a power ballad pace, while the "Blush Response Remix" introduces a dubstep beat which dominates the majority of the track. Other than these eleven different creative yet redundant "F--k Machine!" versions, this effort includes a remix of the previously released "Jack You Up," which similarly to the "IJU Remix" features a pulsating techno beat. While this compilation of multiple revisions could be beneficial for the band, unless you are a die hard dedicated Mindless Self Indulgence fan, chances are you couldn't stand to sit through the original version, let alone eleven different takes on the same song.

Lyrics — 4
Lead vocalist James Euringer, also known by his thought provoking stage name Jimmy Urine, does a formidable job vocally on the two songs and multiple versions which appear throughout this new compilation. His vocals are one of the sole driving points which provide any sort of melodic hook, however through no apparent fault of his own, listening to the same set of lyrics which sound as though they were torn from the back of a grade school student's notebook makes this compilation difficult to listen to. As a sample of Euringer's lyrics, here are some from the album's title track: "Now we don't care if you're a girl or a toy/ if you're a game or a boy/ if you're a nerd or a whore/ This sh-t is so bad/ it could win a Grammy/ this d-ck is so sick/ we can start a family."

Overall Impression — 5
There are some remixes which appear on Mindless Self Indulgence's "F--k Machine!" which do come across as creative, however when it comes to the actual album it quickly leads to a dull listening experience. Dedicated fans who simply enjoy anything with the group's name on it may find this a worthwhile listen, whereas the rest of us will be wondering exactly what we just listened to.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date