Good News for People Who Love Bad News review by Modest Mouse

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 6, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (51 votes)
Modest Mouse: Good News for People Who Love Bad News

Sound — 10
"Good News For People Who Love Bad News" marked a major departure from the sound of Modest Mouse's earlier. Gone are the lengthy eight minute, spacy songs found on "The Lonesome Crowded West." Isaac Brock, leader of the group, has defintely moved towards a more mainstream sound; they've even scored a top 40 hit with "Float On." The album is an incredible blend of many different types of sounds. These sounds range from acoustic sounds on "Blame It On The Tetons," to classic indie with "World At Large," to edgy rock found on "Bury Me With It." Brock plays a banjo on several tracks, which actualy works with his voice quite well. The songs still have a relaxed feel; the band places space and breaks in the music that can make it relaxing or driving. Overall, the album has a unique flow that is is a refreshing break from the driving power chords and repetitive riffs of other bands.

Lyrics — 6
Brock's voice is one of the most unqiue I have ever heard. Although at first it sounds a bit harsh and out there, it fits his songs perfectly. Many of his songs are sung in a barking sound (i.e. "Float On"), but he can also bring his voice down to a soft melody. The lyrics are fairly decent and works with the music to create a good sound. They flow well and uses some metaphors that'll make you think, but some of these lines are repetitive and overused, adding a low note to the album.

Overall Impression — 10
This album really blew me away when I heard it. It used so many different sounds and styles and it sounded like nothing I've ever heard before. For anyone looking for a break from pop/punk music played on the radio, this album will be very appealing. Some of the best songs on the album are "Ocean Breathes Salty," which scored a minor hit, and "The View," a upbeat, powerful rock song. This CD isn't for everbody however. Although it appears on a mainstream record label, it still is aimed more towards indie rockers than anyone else. But this album was definitely worth every cent and was one of the best released in 2004.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date