Beyond The Gate review by Moi dix Mois

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 1, 2006
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 6.3 Neat
  • Users' score: 7.5 (13 votes)
Moi dix Mois: Beyond The Gate

Sound — 6
We can notice that Mana misses inspiration. If you listen the begining of Deus Ex Machina you can see some similarity with Beast Of Blood from Malice Mizer. The drums sound too much artifical, we can easily see that isn't a real drum, it's a big error to be corrected for the next one. Guitars are good but not really hard. Sometimes it's hard to distinguish the bass guitar.

Lyrics — 7
The compliance of the lyrics with the music is pretty good. Lyrics are not too bad in general. Seth is good, he sing like a mix of Juka (ex. M10M) and Gackt (ex. Malice Mizer, Gackt), but I never heard him in Live. Screaming voice and sweet voice are pretty good.

Overall Impression — 6
This album is very different if you compare with the other albums (more guitar). Personnally this album disappointed me. Very expensive for the number of the songs, something like 30-40$CAN (12 song on the Limited Edition and 7 on the Illimited one). Songs are very repetitive. I think the best song is Unmoved (composed when Juka, Kazuno and Tohru were on M10M), the others are just normal. I give a generous 6 for this album. This album is for the great Moi Dix Mois's fans or those which like j-metal, goth-metal.

10 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Man Moi Dix Mois kicks ass... I really want to hear the album, the only problem is that, since it's Japanese, it's hard to order to Finland... The only jap band that you can find around here is Dir en grey, and that's bad 'cause I'm more into Glay, Gazette and Malice Mizer :/
    sure, I like Moi Dix Mois but this album disappointed me...
    this album wasn't all that bad. He said he was trying to do something different with the band and he wanted everyone to hear what he wanted to do as soon as possible. So he released this as a mini-album. And unmoved was in the process of being composed during the old lineup. What they performed live was basically an unfinished version. He made more adjustments and finished it up for Beyond the Gate.
    Yes, it's not as good as Nocturnal Opera (their masterpiece), but it's not bad. Anyway, I prefer Dir en grey
    Firstly, Seth sounds nothing like Juka or Gackt, much less like a combination of the two. I swear people can't get over the fact that something is new or different from what they're used to. Unmoved isn't nearly as good as some of the other songs, but it did happen to be composed while Juka was with them. Something gives me the feeling that you're just a little sore that Juka got kicked out? The drum machine is a little lacking, but the guitar sound is excellent and Seth is more talented than Juka. A 6 is an awfully low rating for this CD.