Fascination review by Monsters Are Waiting

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 18, 2006
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 6.7 (3 votes)
Monsters Are Waiting: Fascination

Sound — 8
Monsters Are Waiting's debut album Fascination (Retone Records) makes a niche for the rock quartet as a successor to Blondie with lead singer's Annalee Fery's cherubic-toned vocal keys and an ambient-pop syntax resonating through their guitar effects and synthesizer. Fery's aquiline keyboard fixings are anchored to Eric Gardner's modish drumming while the oscillating flickers of Jonathan Siebels and Andrew Clark's bass and guitar exchanges are spellbinding. In fact, Siebels and Clark have been known for trading instruments in the middle of a show. The group's debut album Fascination (Retone Records) was produced by the band and delves into the electro pop/nu wave realm. The band has a light rock circulation with an orchestral pop lift. Tunes like Firefly and the title track have laminated passages which create shimmering sounds in the guitar effects and sparsely spread out drum fills softly throbbing making the melody seem like it is floating on air. Christine has a reggae beat pumping through the electro pop mounds while Monsters is a cutesy number with saccharine sweet vocal registers cinching Razorlight-like rhythmic pulses and crisp guitar ridges. Monsters Are Waiting experiments with jangling tones like Shiny Toy Guns making their melodies float and glitter with glistening chimes like in the mid-tempo tune Last Goodbye and the slow funky rhythms of Perfect Stranger. The songs have a catchy vibe and dance club atmospheres. The mellow out movements in Time create a plush bedding with a cushiony feel and conclude the album with an aurally tranquil setting. Monsters Are Waiting's debut album is stylishly pop and melodically sheen. It's soft and sassy and loaded with gorgeous tones.

Lyrics — 7
The words slip and slide through the verses as Fery's silky vocal tones skate across the melodic movements. The lyrical content are like journal entries, vocalizing feelings and desires like in the song Christine when Fery sings, It not too late to be her lover/I want to discover/Tonight's the night/Make me, take me, anyway you want me. Fery's vocals are breathy and caress each syllable in the words she sings, and make sing along tracks through the synth-pop menagerie.

Overall Impression — 8
The album shows the band's potential to make enchanting songs with an electro-pop persuasion. Their penchant for cutting out tones and pasting them together to form flashy montages is. There is an innocence in their songs making them cutesy and dimply sweet, and yet immaculately polished with high-definition.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    jon siebels was in eve 6...they were sick. i never anything by these guys though...maybe ill give it a shot. random news: the other two guys from eve 6 are in a band called the sugi tap..check it out on myspace