Fear & Desire review by MrNorth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 6, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
MrNorth: Fear & Desire

Sound — 9
Melodic hard rock, the way 30 Seconds To Mars and Theory Of A Deadman do it. The guitar cuts roar and blaze through the transitions while the bass and drum patterns rumble with excitement. There is a chilling vibration coursing through For The Cheater And The Cheated and pulsating movements complementing the billowing guitar sequences studding Waking The Dead. There are rounds of acoustic-rock sessions on tracks like Rope and Where No One Else Can See, and undercurrents of orchestral orbs and classical piano swiveling in the power chord ambiences of Overture and Overture (Reprise). The smoldering guitar ligaments cauterize the rhythm pulses while the husky vocal tones of Colin Smith carry the weight of the melody. Band members Colin Smith (lead vocals/guitar), Emmet O'Malley (guitars), Oisin O'Malley (bass guitar/keyboards), and Adrian Mordaunt (drums) make a hell of a team. Their album Fear & Desire (Rock Ridge Music) was produced by their bassist/keyboardist Oisin O'Malley and co-produced by Steve Lyon. The album is easy to savor for anyone who enjoys hard rock/nu metal.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are witty, cleverly phrased and hit their mark right in the heart like on the track Waking The Dead when Smith tolls, If you came to wake the dead you came too late/ Did you not read the sign upon the gate that says 'Go bother somebody else'/Make believe that I don't lie/ Sell it to someone who just might buy/Make it seem that you are right/Be worth more than your currency tonight. The lyrics mirror real life experiences and human feelings. Smith uses words, which you find yourself wanting to say to someone else whether it's to somebody you love or someone who has spurned you, the lyrics cover both grounds.

Overall Impression — 10
For guys new on the scene, their songs are amazing whisking together orchestral-pop jaunts with hard rock riffage. The string arrangements ellipse the classical piano phrases and power chord dynamics. Some songs both sonically and melodically carry references to other bands like the Offspring stimulus on The Player and the Puddle Of Mud bowing on So Many Things, but Mrnorth really work well with what they have. There isn't a weak spot on the album. Every track has unique hooks, chord shifts, and dynamics tailoring the songs so it feels like you are listening to something new. The album makes a good lasting impression.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date