Dr. Feelgood review by Mötley Crüe

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1989
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (28 votes)
Mötley Crüe: Dr. Feelgood

Sound — 8
The Crue really have their own style with heavy drum beats and huge sounding choruses and noone can copy them it can only be them. They really set themselves aside from the other "hair metal" bands of the 80s and it shows here how on top they got after they getting sober their sound is raw despite being produced by Bob Rock they sound as dirty and aggressive as they did on "Shout At The Devil" and Mick Mars guitar sounds awesome with his shred blues style(check out the talk box use on "Kickstart My Heart").

Lyrics — 10
THe lyrics are great they make sense and they often have deeper meanings that become obvious as you listen Nikki Sixx is on top form as a lyricist but the best tracks come with help from Guitarist Mick Mars (title track Dr. Feelgood is brilliant). Vince Neil stays on top form as a singer managing to have power in his voice yet hit ever note perfectly.

Overall Impression — 10
This is through very close call the best of the Mtley albums (followed closely by "Girls, Girls, Girls" and "Shout At The Devil") The best songs are easily "Kickstart My Heart" and "Dr. Feelgood" its one of the few albums I listen to all the way through regularly with only one track below average ("Without You" a crap power ballad that Motley did better on "Theatre Of Pain" with "Home Sweet Home")It's a really special album and often forgotten since the Cre have been gone and metal has died out but it amazing and well worth any price.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date