Hullabaloo review by Muse

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 4, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (59 votes)
Muse: Hullabaloo

Sound — 10
This is an album of B-Sides and live takes from Muse. Good? Do you really need to ask? Of course it's good, you fool. Muse are the best band of the noughties, there is really no one like them. The most accessable songs here (disc 1) are "Shrinking Universe," "Map Of Your Head," and "Recess," which should've been on "origin...". However, it's live where Muse really shine. Check out their brilliant versions of "Showbiz," "Space Dementia," "Citizen Erased" and "Megalomania." The bass, guitars, pianos and drums are brilliant. So is it good? Use your imagination.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics here are good. Not great, good. Bellamy's deep, thoughtful lyrics on disc 2 and on songs like recess is amazing, but too many effects are applied (See the poor 'heavy song', "Yes Please," which really is bad) in places. On disc 2, they are outstanding, and it's unbelievable that they're actually live.

Overall Impression — 10
This isn't Muse's best album, and it's made up of B-Sides. Why buy? Simple. Muse are a million miles ahead of all other bands. Live, they are untouchable. In studio, they are indestructable. Buy now and be amazed.

6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    To use an overstated comparison, the Closest thing to Muse is The best of the Bends by Radiohead.
    The only problem with CD2 is the fact they don't have the full performance on it. Uno is incredible on the DVD.
    josh w c
    the live album is great - dead star and in your world are amazing and even the songs from origin and showbiz have a new spin to them. the b-sides disc is a bit patchy but shrinking universe is a classic and shine acoustic is a great muse ballad. hyper-chondriac music also really good re-working of hyper music. recommend this album!
    This album, I feel, is very good but for it to have the highest rating of any Muse album on UG is ridiculous! Good album, not great, but definitely enjoyable