Helvete review by Nasum

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 13, 2003
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (6 votes)
Nasum: Helvete

Sound — 9
There was no stopping Nasum, as they set out to improve their track list of songs, rising over the years with blistering fast drum beats, instense riffs to head bang to for hours, and a mix of growling and screaming all thrown together for the grindcore experience of a lifetime. After their success of "Human 2.0", they came blaring back with the release of "Helvete", distributed by Relapse Records, offering some of their greatest work ever to be put on CD. The overall sound and way the songs are put together, have gone through a change since "Inhale-Exhale", but that's not a bad or good change, either way it sounds amazing. "Inhale/Exhale" had a lot more slower, rhythm tracks, but the way "Helvete" is so brutally hammered towards, is a hell of a lot of moshy, instrumental balistic riffs (songs such as "Whip", sending you straight to hell with hellacious drums and frantic guitars to begin with, then pounds you even deeper along with the rest of the hellriden song). The song "Scoop", has been a fan favorite for years, and gained fame by a video was shot by "Napalm Death's" Mitch Harris.

Lyrics — 8
From a lyrical point, their style of writing is mostly based on how the world is going to soon crumble from all the problems it is taking in, and the way lifestyles are living due to media and such. Each member in the band at the time, would switch between writing the lyrics for the songs that are so well put together. It shows how Mieszko Talarczyk (singer), wrote more about the ending of life and the mysteries it contais ("The Final Sleep", and "Stormsheild" while Anders Jakobson (drummer) wrote about the meaning of being pushed around long enough, and not standing against the lies people can feed you ("Slaves To The Grind", and "The Everlasting Shame" to name a few. Some of their best lyrics are on this CD, hell, half of these tracks I quote in my blogs for having stunning lyrics that really put an image in your mind.

Overall Impression — 9
When being compared to "Inhale/Exhale" or perhaps "Human 2.0", it is your choice to decide what style of music you'd like to lean towards that has been produced by Nasum. "Helvete" and "Shift", both sound alike, which is good, because what "Helvete" delivers, is an intense volcanic eruption of hell all around you as your ears transfer the sounds of delicious grindcore you want to devour for days. A few of the tracks you will think sound the same, which is true, but that's what grindcore offers, a relentless assault of musical mayhem, conjured to ask you begging for more. Tracks that you must check out if you are a fan of grindcore are; Scoop, Relics, Doombringer, Slaves To The Grind (the best song on the album, absolutely thee most fierce song ever created by Nasum, the last 12 seconds have an amazing head banging experience like no other), and Whip (2nd best song on this masterpiece). Overall, "Helvete" is a hard album to be topped by any grindcore band, the amount of time Nasum but into this album, really shows, due to the beautifuly composed destruction they have brought us. When it comes down to it, I don't think I or any of the fans will ever recover from Mieszko Talarczyk's death from the 2004 Tsunami, we all shall remember him as the strong force in one of the best grindcore bands in the world, Nasum = The Kings Of Grind.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date