Heart Of Gold [DVD] review by Neil Young

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 13, 2006
  • Sound: 8
  • Content: 9
  • Production Quality: 10
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 8.5 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.6 (5 votes)
Neil Young: Heart Of Gold [DVD]

Sound — 8
The overall sound of this DVD is decent. There isn't really anything special about it though. There is only one song on the whole thing that even features an electric guitar. I'm not saying that this is a bad DVD or anything I'm just going to let you know that it is a little boring. You can not watch it if you are tired because you will fall asleep. I am a big fan of Neil young and I love all of his acoustic and electric stuff but I like it when he combines them together in one show. Not when he just plays a whole show one way. Concerts are supposed to be exciting and this one lacks the excitement. Still has great music though. This is the concert where he debuted the Prairie Wind album before it was even released.

Content — 9
This is a live concert recorded in the Summer of 2005 in The Ryman Auditorium. Contents: Disc 1. 01. The Road To The Ryman 02. The Painter 03. No Wonder - the only song on the film that features an electric guitar. 04. Falling Off The Face Of The Earth 05. Far From Home 06. It's A Dream 07. Prairie Wind 08. Here For You 09. This Old Guitar with Emmylou Harris 10. When God Made Me 11. I Am A Child 12. Harvest Moon 13. Heart Of Gold 14. Old Man 15. Needle And The Damage Done 16. Old King with Emmylou Harris (she stays until the end) 17. Comes A Time 18. Four Strong Winds 19. One Of These Days 20. The Old Laughing Lady (end titles) Special Features: "Prairie Wind" Song/ He Was The King, previews. Disc 2. 01. Fellow Travelers - two separate interviews with Neil Young and directer Jonathan Demme talking about how they know each other and how they got the idea for this project. They also discussed the process of making the film. 02. Cruising With Neil - Jonathan Demme took Neil for a ride around Nashville and recorded Neil talking about the new album, the music business, the record making process and other topics. 03. These Old Guitars - Neil's guitar technician gives you a brief look at all of Neil's famous guitars and his personal favorites. 04. Cruising With The Players - the same thing as cruising with Neil only with members of his band instead. 05. Rehearsal Diaries - a 3 part "Fly On The Wall" documentary about rehearsing the entire Prairie Wind album for it's world premier for the film. 06. Finishing Touches - interview with Jonathan Demme along with clips about the final touches in order for the film to be released. 07. Warming Up With Neil And The Jubilee Singers - a vocal warm-up session before Farm Aid 2005. Very Funny! 08. Blast From The Past - Neil playing "The Needle And The Damage Done" on The Johnny Cash show in the early 70s. Really Cool! 09. Credits - you should know what credits are.

Production Quality — 10
The quality of this DVD is very good. It's a movie so it has to be. The whole thing was shot like it was a major motion picture. Jonathan Demme who is well known for directing The Silence Of The Lambs directed this while he had a year off from making movies. He saw his year off as an opportunity to try new things so he gave Neil a call and the discussed doing a concert film that would eventually become this.

Overall Impression — 7
I've never seen any other live DVDs released by Neil Young so I can't really compare this one to them but I have heard some of his live stuff before and it's all pretty good. I really like this one because it's more recent and you can kinda keep up with how he's sounding these days. I think that the most impressive things about this DVD are his new live versions of his acoustic classics like "Heart Of Gold", "Old Man" and "The Needle And The Damage Done". Th only thing that I absolutely hate about this concert is the absence of all of his greatest electric work like "Rocking In The Free World", "Like A Hurricane", "Ohio" and all of his early stuff. But I guess that it's still worth the money.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date