New York Dolls review by New York Dolls

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1973
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (13 votes)
New York Dolls: New York Dolls

Sound — 10
The first song says it all on this album. Personality Crisis is punky, raw and sloppy and the momentum continues throughout the album. David Johansen's vocals and Johnny Thunder's raw guitar is great and the equally sloppy rhythm, bass and drums make it kick even more ass. It was recorded in 1973 and produced by Todd Rundgren. It influenced many glam and punk artists to come with it's raw music style and attitude.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics cover different topics, some being serious and some for fun i.e. Personality Crisis. Johansen's Vocals are great often reminding me of Mick Jagger. Him and Thunders wrote all of the music, mainly Johansen writing the vocals and Thunders taking care of the music. The music is great and the vocals are sweet as well. Both go well together to make a great album.

Overall Impression — 10
This is an amazing record. I love it. At times it gets repeditive, but each song in it's own right rocks. The songs that really stand out for me are Personality Crisis, Looking For A Kiss, Vietnamese Baby and Trash. They rock hard and are perfect examples of this album's raw and sloppy sound. It helped pave the way for the punk and glam metal to come and is a truly influential album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date