B-Sides & Rarities review by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 22, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.4 (8 votes)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: B-Sides & Rarities

Sound — 10
Nick Cave and the world's greatest backing band return. This B-Sides collection is one of the greatest ever written. Featuring songs written at the "From Her To Eternity" Period right up till today it contains three-discs full of ditties where you go "How did that not make it?" It also features fantastic different versions of previously recorded songs like a fantastic "Mercy Seat." There are also some covers including a classic Leonard Cohen Song. Shane McGowan & Bad Seed violinist/multi-instrumetalist's band The Dirty Three make appearances. The only problems is that some tracks like "The Train Song" sound just like other Bad Seeds songs. Jazz, rock, art-rock, blues and a bunch of other genres are tried and tested in a way that only mr. Cave can do.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics to The B-Sides range from the love-songs to completely weird. I don't focus much on lyrics but with Cave it's different. He is great at giving out lines of theolgy.

Overall Impression — 10
The album isn't as good as say "Let Love In" or "The Good Son" but as a B-Sides collection goes it knocks Nirvana's Insectiside Out Of The Water.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date