Wishmaster review by Nightwish

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 29, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.2 (42 votes)
Nightwish: Wishmaster

Sound — 10
Nightwish is by far one of the most ingenious bands ever. They combine metal guitars, furious double bass and opera like vocals to form a sound like nothing else; this is not lacuna coil or Evanescence. Emppu is a very technical and impressive guitar player; he is neither over the top or under represented. Jukka is very solid on the drums, throwing some good old double bass into the mix. And then of course there's Tarja, the amazing (until recently) lead singer. Tuomas, the main man behind it all, holds it down with some interesting synthesizer solos, intros, and breaks, and the bass by Sami is right on.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrics are amazing. Tuomas is a genius. They're not whiney, but they're not all angry either. They have a very power metally, fantasy feel to them that is great and refreshing. Best lyrics are in "Bare Grace Misery" or "Fantasmic" but they remain strong throughout the album. Another 10 for Nightwish.

Overall Impression — 10
The best songs would have to be "She Is My Sin," "Wishmaster," "Bare Grace Misery" and "Fantasmic," although none of the songs are anything short of superb. If you are looking for something new, and like Lacuna Coil or other metal acts, check them out. They are by far one of the best bands out there. Either get this album or the flawless "Once" if you're just getting into them. If this CD were stolen, I would buy it again in a heart beat.

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Well she said she'd left, and she was being too selfish and thinking she's the queen of the world, sorry but if you can't stand the fact that it's a band, you're out !