And All That Could Have Been [DVD] review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 22, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Content: 7
  • Production Quality: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: And All That Could Have Been [DVD]

Sound — 9
'All That Could Have Been' is seen by NIN mainman Trent Reznor as both a landmark and a turning point. This DVD documents the Fragility 2.0 Tour, throughout the united states. Always innovative, this is not simply one or two concerts recorded at the same venue then mashed together for a kind of "best of" like many live DVDs, this takes footage and performances from dates all over the tour and combines them into one explosive package. The only negative side of this is continuity. While the venue remains amazingly similar throughout, Robin Finck's hair-style seems to change with every shot! The live band consists of Robin Finck, Charlie Clouser, Jerome Dillon and Danny Lohner, who use a potent mixture of expert musicianship combined with on-stage antics that make the songs even more impressive than their studio counter-parts.

Content — 7
The DVD is spread out over two discs, which highlights its age (Beside You In Time contains even more tracks and is available on a single disc). This is a bit disruptive when watching the "concert", as you have to change discs to see the second part. Disc 1: 01. Terrible Lie 02. Sin 03. March Of The Pigs 04. Piggy 05. The Frail 06. The Wretched 07. Gave Up 08. La Mer/Into The Void (mash-up) 09. The Great Below 10. The Mark Has Been Made 11. Wish 12. Complication Disc 2: 01. Suck 02. Closer 03. Head Like A Hole 04. Just Like You Imagined 05. Starf--kers, Inc. 06. Hurt As far as extras are concerned, this is pretty weak. There are multi-angles for three songs on disc one, and a documentary on the visual concept of the DVD on disc 2. Some music videos or additional footage, maybe some interviews with band members (particularly Trent) would have been cool, but the main feature is so brilliant that it almost makes up for this.

Production Quality — 8
Compared to blu-ray and higher resolution music DVDs available more recently (see NIN Beside You In Time and Korn - Live On The Other Side), the picture quality isn't the best. It isn't in wide-screen format and it isn't the clearest picture. This does however mean that the rough aesthetic desired by Reznor for the DVD is captured and this gives it a dark, gritty quality, picture-wise. Sound is fantastic, the DVD mix contains a more raw sound than the polished CD version, and this also helps to create the feeling of actually "being there".

Overall Impression — 8
Overall, this is a very strong DVD. It may be a little dated now in comparison to more recent DVDs, but it is still a strong indicator of the power and sheer force of the Nine Inch Nails live experience.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    by the way i made a mistake on the tracklisting, The Great Below is NOT a "mash-up" with Into The Void, they just have a similar bassline. I never listened to the bassline properly until after i reviewed this. So yep, my mistake!
    there are actually a bunch of hidden extras on the second disc if you know where to look try this: During Head Like A Hole on disc 2, at about 11:19, press "7" to access a menu of performances of Reptile, Starf*ckers Inc and Beautiful People (with Manson), the Day the World Went Away, and three promo spots.