With Teeth review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (84 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Sound — 8
The overall sonic feel of With Teeth is very dynamic and covers a full spectrum of moods and feelings. Songs like Beside You In Time fit into Reznor's trademark "Is it real guitar or synth?" sound. If you like a balance of fast live drums and packaged machine-beats, with a good portion of slow piano medleys, this album is up your alley.

Lyrics — 8
Dark and brooding lyrics as usual. Lyrics tend to focus on the listener's life versus the songwriter's life.

Overall Impression — 8
I can see a step forward from NIN's previous albums, especially The Fragile and Still. If you're looking for another The Downward Spiral, you'll only like a couple songs. I suggest buying the DVD-Audio format, because Reznor is one of the best producers of recorded music, plus there's viewable artwork contained on the DVD.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date