With Teeth review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (84 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Sound — 10
I was instantly struck with how mature a sound Reznor had developed in this album. The increased use of live sounding drumming and more band orientated songs, combined with subtle use of synths and effects, makes for a breath of fresh air that still contains that unmistakable whiff of NIN. The variety in this album impresses, with a near perfect balance of textures throughout.

Lyrics — 8
Reznor's lyrical style is as agnst ridden as ever. While he has gone for a more political direction in this album, the subjects are still deeply personal and engaging. As ever, Reznor often seems to use one too many ryhming couplets, and occasionaly the lyrics can sound like a bit of a cliche (albeit, one which Reznor established himself).

Overall Impression — 10
This is definately a superb album. Accessible enough for the majority of consumers, but with sufficient depth to please those who loved The Fragile. Contaning some instant classics such as Right Where it Belongs (as well as some not-so-good songs, e.g. The Collector), Reznor should be proud of what he has done, and anyone who buys the album is in for a treat.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date