With Teeth review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 4
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 6 Neat
  • Users' score: 8.9 (84 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Sound — 6
Sound? At times, like Trent Reznor is wearing a cape made of human skin. This is the sound of Nine Inch Nails for the new century, as he will show you on the album's opener "All The Love In The World," on which he uses technology to make himself sound like an entire church full of soulful black women. This album also features the horrible sound of Dave Grohl playing drums.

Lyrics — 4
Reznor's lyrics run the gamut from bad to God awful. "A-with-a Teeth-a!", he mumbles on the title track. "Evar-ee day is exactly da same," enunciates Reznor on "Every Day Is Exactly The Same," sounding exactly like the dull-witted hillbilly that he is. And on the albums lone aggressive track "You Know What You Are?", he barely manages the anger level of a self-mutilating Dairy Queen employee.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall, I was pleased with Reznor's latest effort. His newfound maturity is evident on track such as "Only," with it's hilarious bits of rapping and horrible general MIDI drum loops, and "Beside You In Time" on which Reznor mumbles nonsense while raping your ears with godawful sound effects for several minutes. All in all this is a profound new sound upon which Reznor will build an altar of bones.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date