With Teeth review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.9 (84 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Sound — 10
Same old Trent. There's all the usual trademark sounds of NIN on this record. Intricate piano melodies, raw guitars and bounding drums. Although the abandenment of programmed drums for one Dave Grohl on drums may not sit well with some fans, it gives the album a far more groove than ever before. The opening track 'All The Love In The World' introduces us back to Trent and his fragile drum and bass refrains and then tears it all up with others such as 'Know What You Are' and 'Love Is Not Enough'. When the final note of 'Right Where It Belongs' fades out, not only have your ears been opened sonically but the reberation of the walls beggs you to have another listen.

Lyrics — 10
Trent is just a genious. Full Stop. From the howl's of 'Don't you f--king know what you are?' to the crooning of 'Will you bite the hand that feeds you?' Trent hit's on all kinds of subjects such as politics, social identy and (gasp) love. Whatever the subject, all of Trent's lyrics are meaningful and sung with such energy and emotion that it gives each track another level of meaning.

Overall Impression — 10
Absolutely incredible. It's been some six years since the release of the epic 'The Fragile' which was written under paranio and excess drug use. And now NIN present us with the album 'With Teeth' which seems a far more cohesive work than anything before, in short more like an album of rock songs. Sure some fans might not like the fact that Trent has cleaned up a few tracks for mainstream but there is still no lack of aggression and energy in anyone. It more than meets expectations that we expect from Trent now and stands up just fine next to his other work. The seems that all the waiting really paid off.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date