With Teeth review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (84 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Sound — 8
First of all, the fact that the album was available as a dual disc (which offers the entire album in DVD 5.1 format) was cool for a NIN record. Since they use so many tracs, the 5.1 seperation is nice. This album is more comparable to Pretty Hate Machine in that it has more of a "band" feel than a "studio" feel. You get drums, guitar, bass, and vocals (and Trent's piano) which almost makes it a jam record instead of a project like "Fragile," no soundscapes on this one. It does get a bit repetitive though they could have spent some more time on the guitars but not enough to complain about.

Lyrics — 10
Trent has always been a good lyric writer, always creative and this album isn't any different.

Overall Impression — 8
Content wise, to me, this album is one of those that needs to be played start to finish to get the whole effect. It does get a bit repetitive and I keep feeling like it's lacking something. The album glows all the way through and gets red hot but never catches fire (if that makes sense). But all in all it's worth buying because it is a good album and has a cool sound to it (speaking audio wise).

0 comments sorted by best / new / date