Year Zero review by Nine Inch Nails

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 17, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (128 votes)
Nine Inch Nails: Year Zero

Sound — 9
If there was anything Trent was 100% right about when he described the album as "Highly conceptual. Quite noisy. F--king cool." It's the noise. Noise and extreme deformity/atonality is persistent throughout every song. It's in the drum-machines, guitar solos and vocals. Songs range from extremely powerful-sounding (Hyperpower! and The Beginning Of The End) and dancy (Capital G and God Given) to quiet and mellow (Another Version of the Truth, In this Twilight and Zer-Sum). Perhaps musically the best album since The Fragile.

Lyrics — 7
For those of you unfamiliar with the huge promotion campaign Trent launched for this album, let me say this: the lyrics are thought-provoking and quite anti-government. They aren't as well as The Fragile (his best, IMHO), and they aren't extremely angry, but they do fit well with the noise.

Overall Impression — 10
It's unique, and even the worst song of it (God Given) has since grown on me. The greatest songs are: Capital G, Meet Your Master and The Greater Good, and I guess I don't hate anything about it. If it were stolen, I would buy ten more copies and stuff them into every orifice of the robber. And it is still better than With Teeth, so I give it a 10 (considering the campaign).

0 comments sorted by best / new / date