In Utero review by Nirvana

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 24, 2013
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (217 votes)
Nirvana: In Utero

Sound — 10
The general tone of this CD and the simple melodies in All Apologies, Dumb,and Heart Shaped Box all carry such a certain mood and the mood flows into the entire CD. In other songs like Tourettes and Scentless Apprentice, the melody is a little harder and brings out just the raw guitar stylings of Kurt Cobain, and still other songs blend the two together. To me this CD defines the Nirvana experience.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are enough to move anybody in somesongs. But yet in others its a comical but yet slightly disturbing mix of poetry and lyrics such as in Heart shaped Box, "I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black." or in Milk It, "her milk is my sh*t, my sh*t is her milk".

Overall Impression — 10
Every song on here can define someones mood and I think thats why most people, including myself, find this album to be Nirvana's greatest.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date