With The Lights Out review by Nirvana

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 23, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (109 votes)
Nirvana: With The Lights Out

Sound — 10
Nirvana is the most melodic rockband in the history of music. This box-set is no exception. Even when they're completely improvising a song ("The Other Improve" Or "Scentless Apprentice 1992 Rehersal"), It sounds extremely melodic. And many songs that sounded horrible on bootlegs ("Verse Chorus Verse" and "Old Age") now have full studio versions. Even many of the demo versions of songs have been restored to sound great.

Lyrics — 10
Cobain's skills to write music are still unmatched. Look at the unreleased gem "Do Re Mi". Many of the songs on the CD's have alternate lyrics. "All Apologies" has alternate lyrics that in my opinion sound better than those on In Utero. "Very Ape" has a completely new verse that sounds great. "Marigold" (written by Grohl) has very simple lyrics, But they fit. "Scentless Apprentice" had no lyrics because it was in a fetal stage. It only had wails and howls (Remember it was recorded in 1992 - 2 years before In Utero). The howls on "Blandest" are sure to send chills down you're spine. You even get a couple cover songs by The Vaselines, Ledbelly and Led Zeppelin.

Overall Impression — 10
It has everything a good box-set should have. Rarities, b-sides, acoustic performances, demos, and radio sessions. It also comes with a 60 page full-color booklet with unreleased pictures and commentary by Thurston Moore of Sonic Youth. It also comes with a DVD with songs played at Krist's house, And many live performences. Even if you don't know much about Nirvana this is a great gift for the alternative music lover. It's 59.98$ and that is almost a steal. "Do Re Mi" is reason enough to buy this. You get that and 80 more songs. It's worth every penny!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date