With The Lights Out review by Nirvana

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 23, 2004
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (109 votes)
Nirvana: With The Lights Out

Sound — 9
Nirvana's 'With The Lights Out' box set of the band's past truly opens doors to unreleased Nirvana material, along with some rough recordings, whether it be live, acoustic, or studio, versions of some of their greatest hits. All of the traditional Nirvana sound is present in some form or another, along with an included alternative-metal feel with some songs.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrics are pleasing and wonderful, as usual with Mr. Kurt Cobain. Lyrics and music flow together and they're on the same page with each other at all times. Kurt's voice is obviously the same as it always is, some days there's range, some days there isn't. Also, the track 'Marigold' is vocalized by Dave Grohl. This song would be stiff competition for best song on the album, if it weren't for it's length and repetitiveness.

Overall Impression — 9
The unreleased tracks are awesome, and the varied recordings shed new light on the early days of Nirvana. Some songs that stick out in my mind in greatness would be 'Marigold' (disc 3), 'Anorexorcist' (disc 1), 'Old Age' (disc 2), and 'Sappy' (disc 3). There is something for all Nirvana fans in this box set, and I would totally buy it again if it were stolen, even if it were twice the price originally.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    NIRVANA is the best band ever. Kurt Cobain was so talented vocally. He was very creative and mastered power chords. I would give this boxset a 11/10