Definitely Maybe review by Oasis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 4, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (104 votes)
Oasis: Definitely Maybe

Sound — 9
This was oasis's debut album and was also their major breakthrough. The album is packed with attitude and a sort of arrogant swagger to it, which is what somes up the band perfectly. The loud dirty guitar parts played by older brother Noel, backed up by rhythm guitarist Bonehead, go amazingly well with younger brother Liams vocal snear especialy on songs like "Supersonic" and "Ciggarettes and Alcohol". The album kicks off with the upbeat droning of "Rock 'N' Roll Star" which sets the mood well, then it kicks into the slow rolling blues "Shakermaker" and continues to please the listener with the classic "Live Forever". The album has some low points, some songs such as "Digsy's Dinner" and "Bring It On Down" lack the imagination and attitude to keep up with the others. One of the most obvious musical influences shown is The Beatles, similar chord progressions and techniques used by the band make that apparent. The main aspect of the music that gives makes it great is the vocal tunes of the songs, they all seem to have a certain ability to make you listen.

Lyrics — 8
Noel Gallaghers Song writing had not yet reached it's best but he makes a good first impression. Many of the lyrics are self indulgent and arrogant but have a very 'feel good' tone to them like "Ciggarettes & Alcohol". but there is some brilliant pieces of songwriting on there the best being "Supersonic" and "Live Forever". However Noel does tend to repeat verses and sometimes there just isn't enough lyric to satisfy. Liam Gallaghers singing voice matches well with the lyrics in every song he may not be the most skilled singer but his voice is what carrys the lyrics and adds an extra charm to them.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is brilliant and I would say it is the definitive Oasis album, it has the attitude which all the others lack even though it doesn't have the best songs it still somes up the band better than any other album. The 'must hear' songs on the album would have to be "Live Forever", "Supersonic" and "Slide Away". I love the mass of guitar playing and rolling rhythms of the songs and the whole aura you get from it, there's not much I dislike about it except that sometimes it loses it's effect. If it were stolen or lost I would definitly buy it again

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Morning Glory and Dont believe the truth may be better, but this CD was so fresh and original at the time from all the depressing stuff that was going on, also launched britpop and made people proud to be british again! The lyrics are easy to relate to as a brit. A definate 10 from me.