Definitely Maybe review by Oasis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 4, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (104 votes)
Oasis: Definitely Maybe

Sound — 9
Simple guitars, drums, bass, etc. Though simple yet effective is what's happening here. Bonehead and Guigsy create a wall of sound while Noel does some lead over it and McCarrol bangs away with the drums. And if that wasn't enough Liam comes wailing away with his voice. From Rock and Roll Star till Slide Away those things above are present but the last song which is Married with Children is an acoustic song that is just perfect for a closer, the dry tone of the lead guitar and Liam's "soft" voice comes in play.

Lyrics — 9
Noel is brilliant, the lyrics from Rock and Roll Star till Married with Children has something to say, even Digsy's Dinner with it's lyrics about havin tea and eating lasagna just come together very well with the music, it's simple but just hits you in the right spot. With Rock and roll star about living your life in the city and trying to find a way out and Live Forever about just wanting to live and be alive. Liam's with his distinct voice became a voice of a generation from givin his all to unleashing his soft side in Married in Children. It comes together very well.

Overall Impression — 9
Great album, great band.The stand out tracks are Slide Away, Supersonic, Cigarettes and Alcohol, Married with Children, and Live Forever. I love the fact that is just plain rock and roll with just plain honest lyrics and if it were stolen I would definitely not maybe buy it again.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date