Definitely Maybe review by Oasis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 4, 2009
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (104 votes)
Oasis: Definitely Maybe

Sound — 8
Liam's vocals are great on this album, as he always was in the '90s. Noel sings some of the B-sides really well. Sometimes it is difficult to tell what instrument is what, because at times it it kind of muddy sounding. I personally don't hear any difference between this version (the remastered one) and the original one. That said, I have the digital download of the album so i don't know if that makes a difference or not. Some of the live versions of the songs don't have really good quality, but that's understandable. I bought this album for the extra songs, not for it being remastered.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are great! Even though some of them are weird, such as "D'Yer Wanna Be a Spaceman?" and "Digsy's Dinner" and some other ones, I still think it is good. Even the B-sides and demos have some ace lyrics. Noel always seems to be singing about getting out of a town, which is a bit repetitive, but relatable. Songs like "Live Forever," "Slide Away," "Sad Song," "Take Me Away," and "Strange Thing" are really good in my opinion. I think it is really cool to see how some of the songs started out and how they evolved to be what they are today.

Overall Impression — 10
This album definitely compares to other Oasis albums. I think it is the best one. All of the songs are great, except "Shakermaker." I don't like that song very much. I love that this album has B-sides and demos on it. I think that was a really good decision on their part. A lot of the songs on it you could not legally download until now. I wish they would make all B-sides available to download. I don't like that they put some of the songs from "The Masterplan" on it. I would prefer it if they would have put some different B-sides and demos instead of already available B-sides. I would definitely buy it again if I had to. I love this album. It is definitely in my top five of all time!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date