(What's The Story) Morning Glory? review by Oasis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 3, 1995
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (114 votes)
Oasis: (What's The Story) Morning Glory?

Sound — 10
the album that made stars out of 2 loud mouth violent beatles fans from manchester and had us all asking who were the brit pop kings. Their second lp (after Definitely maybe) added the 2nd all time great album to 1997 (ok computer being the other.) The album kicks off with the chords to wonderwall, giving fair weather fans a brief glimpse of excitment, before pulling it away and launching into "hello" with its great energy giving distorted chords. Roll with it and wonder wall follow, which need little comment. Don't look back in anger is track 4, and is one of those moments when you are staggered by how far a band has come. The staggering piano which is carried along by lyrics which really cannot be said to be happr or sad. The album continues with some greats like some might say, shes electric and explodes in a5 minute creshendo of morning glory, the album closes with an astonishingly beutifull champagne supernova.

Lyrics — 6
Liam is no pop idol finalist or well trained machine that can hit notes only dogs can hear, hell, you can hear the mancunian in his voice. Yet the way you are familar with his voice, adds almost a comforting factor to these songs. And while Noel isn't the greatest lyricist in the world, the songs do find a place in your heart, itll will take you back to 97, when bars opened later and the yells of "and after all your my wonderwall" chorused from inside.

Overall Impression — 10
No beatles impersonations, no offering fights to blur, no boasting about money, this is oasis at their prime, the good ol days mad for it!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date