(What's The Story) Morning Glory? review by Oasis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 3, 1995
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (114 votes)
Oasis: (What's The Story) Morning Glory?

Sound — 8
(What's the Story) Morning Glory ? tends to create an overblown and extorted sound for a few of its song, and whilst songs like 'Wonderwall', 'Some might Say', 'She's Electric' and 'Champagne Supernova' couldn't be better produced, songs like 'Morning Glory', 'Don't Look Back in Anger' and most notbaly 'Hello' are let down because of their overblown production not bringing out the full potential of the scintillating melodies. Greatly distancing itself from the innocent sound of 'Definitely Maybe', 'What's the Story?' tends to exuberate Oasis as a band full of melodies, stadium swingers, noise, swagger and confidence.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics aren't exactly Bob Dylan, but because of the technique of fittingly putting in words that blend with the music and melody, these songs have become timeless classics. And who needs shakespeare literature skills, when the songs are to be reaching out to anybody from any walk of life, so singing along is not a problem. Liam Gllagher hits his vocal peak on this album; mastering 'Shes Electric' and it's strainable high-notes, perfecting 'Wonderwall' and riding a wave of sweetness in 'Champagne Supernova'. Also, Liams top notch voice in the weepy 'Cast no Shadow' must be comended for its consistent efforts in not missing a note.

Overall Impression — 10
Morning Glory's only flaw is that it plays like a greatest hits album and therefore the songs don't have quite the connection with each other as they did on Definitely Maybe; especially considering the addition of the out-of-place and perhaps unnecessary instrumentals in the tracklisting. But with the consolidation that every song on this album could have been released as a single, the album never fails to impress. Swaggering tunes like 'Morning Glory' and 'Some might Say' perfect enscapulate the band, whilst heartbreakers like 'Wonderwall', 'Dont look back in anger' and 'Champagne Supernova' thrust the band into immortality far beyond the bounds of the Britpop cultural revolution.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date