Marchin' Already review by Ocean Colour Scene

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 15, 1997
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (13 votes)
Ocean Colour Scene: Marchin' Already

Sound — 8
This is my personal favourite out of all OCS' albums, there is something so magical about the original Ocean Colour scene sound, everything seems so raw, so unpolished, so real, honest and passionate. The music style is a very raw indie, with hints of rock and folk music tucked away in there. There is also a strange dynamic which seems to flow through the album, as if all the songs lead into eachother, the album is structured in the same way that it's predecessor "Moseley Shoals". The first song "Hundred mile high city" starts off quite heavy and bouncy then leads into the more quitely dynamic "Better day". The songs then seem to flow in and out of eachother beautifully, in such a way that you don't seem to lose interest, the album keeps it's appeal. My favourite part of the CD comes in at the end of "Half A Dream Away", there is a rather magical instrumental that plays for a while then leads seamlessly into the last song on the album "It's A Beautiful Thing", which ends eventually in another interesting and perculiar jam to finish off. The downsides to the sound is, the tone of Steve Craddock's guitar is very tight and whiny and not to everyones taste though I may personally like it. Another thing is that the album really is that raw and unpolished, which means it's has a very bluesy soulful sound which does not sound crystal clear all the time. It is done that way on purpose, if you like that sort of music you will love this album, if you like well polished recording studio artwork, I imagine you will not approve of this album. However musical innovation and magical sound are what makes an album great and this has got them both.

Lyrics — 8
Simon Fowler is a fantastic song writer, he simply has the gift to keep on writing, their songs seem to be these little stories about something so completely normal yet so enchanting, it's these little glimpses of honesty and passion what really make the songs. Granted it can be hard to make sense of the songs sometimes but it still carries something with the music. The lyrics and the music simply mould together to make something beautiful, Simon isn't the best singer on the planet but without him singing his song with the music, the song just wouldn't work. The lyrics and the music compliment eachother perfectly, and the additional vocals by Pp Arnold in the "Travellers Tune" and "It's A Beautiful Thing" bring something really special to the overall album.

Overall Impression — 9
Overall, although OCS' music isn't actually that complicated, the ammount of passion and soul and the dynamics put into their music make this album unique. The songs individually do not seem like that music but the album as a whole is fantastic, each song works with the last and works into the next. This album is not a collection of songs slapped together, it is album, where for one hour, you will be taken on an open, real and honest musical journey. You'll either dismiss it immediately or love it forever. If you like raw bluesy indie music this album is a definate must hear.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date