Mirror review by One Hour Before

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 22, 2013
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 6.6 (8 votes)
One Hour Before: Mirror

Sound — 7
This is the first album release for this Italian metalcore band. For a first budget-studio album it's really great sounding. Great and never old drum parts, interesting bass lines and solos and enjoyable guitar solos, rhythmic and melodic solutions. There are some cliches here and there, but the overall album is pretty enjoyable. This is not the typical metalcore album full of screams and with 8 stringed guitars, it's really irregular you can easily find a "blast" drum sound after a clean and pop-sounding tune. This album is really easy to listen to, even for folks who don't are into metal at all.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrics are in English and are well-matched with the song they are into. The overall singing is pretty good, whereas the singers are not native English speakers and this is clear through the entire album. The clean male voice from the guitar/singer Nick Zappoli is really good and in line with the genre, his parts are taking almost the whole singing in the album, even the little parts where he screams are pretty acceptable. The other voice, the bassist, is for the most part screaming, He has a really extreme kind of scream, but it fit well with the songs; also in the track Scream In Vain he does good second-voices talked part.

Overall Impression — 8
This is a really good result for a first work from an underground band. After you listen to it you can tell they are really Bullet For My Valentine (from "The Poison" album particularly) influenced but with some other influences as well. Overall is a really good work totally worth the time spend listening to it and the money it costs even if it contains only 6 tracks, actually this is an hybrid EP - Album, it's the first work from a band who wants to grow and release a full-length album with better and better sound, composition and arrangements quality. We hope to see some good news from this promising Italian band.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date