Blizzard Of Ozz Review

artist: Ozzy Osbourne date: 04/14/2011 category: compact discs
Ozzy Osbourne: Blizzard Of Ozz
Released: 1980
Genre: Rock
Styles: Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, Neo-Classical Metal
Number Of Tracks: 9
Blizzard Of Ozz is an excellent debut solo album from Ozzy Osbourne.
 Sound: 9.6
 Lyrics: 8.6
 Overall Impression: 9.6
 Overall rating:
 9.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 9.9 
 Votes:
 36 
 Views:
 1,294 
reviews (8) 19 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: Hevoc, on january 28, 2004
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: The tracks are very much hard rock. With Randy Rhoads Ozzy made his most legendary tracks. "I Don't Know" and "Crazy Train" are still very populoar live tracks, no wonder: they have good lyrics and they're fast ones. // 10

Lyrics: I Don't Know - The opener is a hard rocking assault that is sure to please any fan of the genre. This LP version has an intro that is cut from the radio version. Crazy Train - Here it is - the song that made Ozzy a household name. Randy Rhoads never played better guitar than he did in this song, period! Goodbye to Romance - Many fans call this one a generic ballad. Obviously, they've never given it a chance. This is a GREAT ballad! If you don't like this one, you're no Ozzy fan. Dee - A short acoustic guitar instrumental by Randy. Unquestionably the weakest track here (if you want a good Randy instrumental guitar sequence, check out the Guitar Solo on Tribute, or Laughing Gas on Quiet Riot - The Randy Rhoads Years.) Suicide Solution - The song that brought Ozzy legal problems is pretty sweet. This one deals with finding ways to overcome a suicidal nature (in this case, drinking your troubles away.) Good song, but the one on Tribute is WAY better. Mr. Crowley - The organ solo that opens this track is priceless - as is the rest of the track. Once again, Randy is in his prime. No Bone Movies - A song about Ozzy's love for porno. It's a surprisingly good song, but it's the second weakest track on the album (Dee is first.) Revelation (mother Earth) - An eerily melodic ballad about damaging the earth with pollution. Is it just me, or this one greatly resemble She's Gone, from Ozzy's Sabbath days? Steal Away (The Night) - An all-out rocker finishes off the album. And it's a damn good one too! Don't overlook this one just because it's short and at the end of the album. // 10

Overall Impression: Blizzard Of Ozz is an excellent debut solo album from Ozzy Osbourne. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 14, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: I've listened to this album dozens of times and there's just something about it that I really enjoy. Randy Rhoads and Ozzy were the ultimate guitarist/singer duo, and it shows in their music. I love the story of how Ozzy was humming the tune to "Goodbye to Romance" and Randy asked "What's that?" and Ozzy said "Ohh, nothing, just a tune I've been thinking about." And Randy replied, "Well, let's work it out together". That just goes to show you how much Randy and Ozzy could read each other, and not to mention make one of the best songs on the record! Overall, I believe that this album has the perfect balance of guitar and singing abilities. Another thing that I would like to add is the fact that Bob Daisley and Lee Kerslake have never gotten the credit that they deserve. Not only is it important to have a great guitarist/singer relationship going on in a band, but also to have an equally impressive rhythm section, which is what you get on Blizzard. The sound off of Blizzard isn't exactly what I would call heavy metal, but it does have more of a hard rock vibe going on, which I like. // 10

Lyrics: Some of the reviews I have read concerning the lyrics from Blizzard are just down right harsh. How could you possibly say that the lyrics on this album are anything but awesome? If you really want to hear bad lyrics, just listen to "Let Me Hear You Scream" and "Soul Sucker". There is absolutely no meaning to those songs whatsoever! Anyway, in my honest opinion I believe that the lyrics on Blizzard are incredible. My top three favorite songs off of that album are "Mr. Crowley", "I Don't Know", and "Goodbye to Romance", although I can't really tell you which songs that I don't like, since there isn't a bad song on this album. Overall, Ozzy's singing skills were at its peak during the making of BOO and DOAM, and I definitely think that Randy was able to use Ozzy's range to his advantage and make 9 of the best songs of all time. The music and lyrics mesh perfectly together, and if it weren't for Randy Rhoads (well, and Sharon to an extent) Ozzy would have faded away into obscurity soon after he was kicked out of Black Sabbath. // 10

Overall Impression: This album is by far my favorite Ozzy album, AND my favorite album of all time period. In all honesty, I will add that I am completely biased when it comes to Blizzard, mainly because it was the first serious rock n' roll/heavy metal album that I had ever experienced. I still remember being all of 12 years old and hearing Randy Rhoads for the first time. And I mean that guy could PLAY. Without a shadow of a doubt in my mind he is the reason why I play electric guitar, as is this album. Blizzard is THE definite Ozzy album of all time. What??? You might be saying. "But... Diary of a Madman! Over the Mountain!! C'mon the solo on Flying High Again is unreal!!" Of course, I don't and won't even try to dispute that Diary is an incredibly unbelievable step up from Blizzard, but then again liking one album more than another is completely based on opinion, and all opinions are correct, in my opinion. In lamest terms, I love Blizzard because of the fact that it is a complete and utter explosion of inspiration and intelligence. None of the songs really mesh together (in a good way of course!), and there is no "well the sky's the limit" vibe going on! It is absolutely amazing, and if you have never heard this album, then I highly suggest that you go out and buy it (just be careful and skip the crappy 2002 version), because it is something that you could never regret. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 29, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: this features some of the greatest guitar work ever put down in cd form. Rndy Rhoads in without a doubt the most brilliant metal guitarist to live. No offense to eddy van halen his solosare great but he wasnt the best writer. The blazing guitar mixed with Ozzy's vocals surpass nework Ozzy did with Zakk Wylde. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics were great it was songslike crazy train and i dont know, which made Ozzy famous and song like suicide solutions which brought him controversy. The best song on the album is actually the one without words its called Dee. The first review of this album was obviously by an untalented moron who doesnt appreciate anything but distortion and tapping sequences since he called this song weak. The song he spoke of laughing gas is cool but completley unmusical. It showed Randy's versatility as both a metal guitarist and classical trainee. If the writier of the first article would like to debate this he can email me at guitarviper05@aol.com // 10

Overall Impression: an amazin album by a talented group. The most imprssive songs are Dee, Goodbye To Romance, I Don't Know, and Mr Crowley. I can't think of nethin bad about this album. If it were lost id buy it again in a heartbeat. So pick it up. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.3
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: WilBeDed, on july 27, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this album is absolutly great, be it so, but Ozzy doesn't really have a great singing voice, but his showman-ship is excelletn and he sure knwos how to keep the audience entertained. Ozzy's vocals plus the amazing guitaring of Randy "The Man" Rhoads makes this album a true metal enjoyment. // 8

Lyrics: Lyrics are lacking style, but have great originality, the lyrics on this album match the music perfectly, it's almost like they are interwoven with some noise that turns parents crazy. // 6

Overall Impression: I was impressed with this album greatly. The only thing I don't like about the album is goodbye to romance, it sitcks to the normal metal beat and is lacking the thing (The Thing I don't know what it is, but it is what makes a metal song great.) // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: SethMegadefan, on may 26, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Arguably one of the greatest debut solo albums of all time. I don't know how he did it, but Ozzy, despite not being in a nice duo with Iommi, managed to still be as great as ever in his impressive solo album. Besides, who needs Iommi when you've got Randy Rhoads? I guess Ozzy just gets lucky when it comes to guitarists. I have to say, Ozzy sang pretty good on this album, and it really did sound as if he were giving it all he could. He sounds great, and he doesn't even need a Black Sabbath backing him up! Randy Rhoads, what can I say? He's just amazing. He can play great rhythms and seemingly impossible solos as if it were effortless. There's just something about how smoothly he plays such ridiculous stuff that makes him so appealing. Certainly one of the greatest guitar players I've heard in my days. The production value on this album is pretty nice. I mean, Ozzy and Randy sound pretty equal; it's not like with some metal bands where the singer sucks and is really quiet and they let the guitar do all the work, or vice-versa. It's Ozzy and Randy, all the way, and they've created certainly one of the greatest triumph of the '80s. // 10

Lyrics: I hate to admit it, but the lyrics department is really lacking in a lot of songs. Most of them are really immature and completely obvious, which is good for the generic headbanger who-cares-about-lyrics guitar freaks, but when it comes right down to it most metal fans don't want straight-up obviousness. All I can say is that these songs would have been much better had the lyrics been a little more vague. But, with Ozzy singing, it almost goes unnoticed. // 6

Overall Impression: I'm happy that Ozzy didn't call it quits for good after leaving Sabbath, because this album would not have been made and that would have been a real shame. This album is really one of the greatest achievements I think of any band/artist ever, and it is definitely worth your money. And please, don't just get it for "Crazy Train," because I guarantee if you turn on your radio any time of the day you'll hear it anyway, so what's the point? That being said, I hope you can enjoy the entire album, because there are some real classics on it. If you don't have it already, have one of your friends who does have it beat the shit out of you for not owning it by now. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: AdamDK, on august 06, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: I absolutely love this album. Ozzy's voice is perfect, and is as creepy as ever. Also, Randy Rhoads guitar parts are phenomenal. They make the songs flow, and the solos are truely epic, such as Mr Crowley's solo and Goodnight to Romance's solo. My favourite songs off this album are Mr Crowley, Goodnight to Romance and Dee. Mr Crowley is just fantastic. Ozzy's vocals are spot on, the two solo's are amazing and the rhythm guitar parts make the song flow ever so well. Goodnight to Romance is a soft song, and it is a really nice song to listen to. Ozzy's voice is fantastic on this track, and the guitar parts that make up the main melody are great. It is such an easy song to listen to. And the solo. Well, it is truely epic. As the intensity of the song begins to build up, the solo comes in and really defines the word "epic." Dee is an instrumental track, which showcases the true talent of Randy Rhoads. I love listening to this track and can never really get bored of it. However, saying that, it is not the best instrumental track Randy has ever recorded. On the whole, the band is snug on this album, everything is perfectly mixed in my opinion, and this album is in my opinion Ozzy's best. It showcases his talent so well. And for me, this album showcases the talent of Randy Rhoads better than the other two Ozzy albums he worked on. // 9

Lyrics: To be honest, as much as the lyrics lack depth, Ozzy's singing is so good that you really don't need to pay much attention to how the lyrics actually relate with each other. Ozzy's voice is perfect on this album, and it is Ozzy in his prime. If you're a fan of his work in Black Sabbath, then you'll enjoy his work on this album, definitely. // 8

Overall Impression: Any Ozzy fan or fan of his work in Black Sabbath would love this album. It truly captures the magic between him and Randy Rhoads. You will be amazed with the solo's on this album, they really are fantastic. If you're looking to get into Randy's playing style, this album is definitely a must have as it captures his talent like no other album he has recorded on. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 01, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Recorded in 1980, by far, this is the best Ozzy album. Randy Rhoads is my favorite guitarist of all time. If your starting to listen to Ozzy, but don't have any of his music, this is the one I would pick up first. Randy; s guitar and Ozzys singing mesh perfecty on this album. // 10

Lyrics: Lets start with I don't Know. it's the opener for the album, so I like how it opens where it gets louder then starts with a slide on guitar. It also has a nice guitar riff. Crazy Train. A classic. The whole song is perfect, there's nothing they should have done better or different. The solo is one of the best on any song I have heard. Good-bye To Romance is an okay song. it's about Ozzy's departure from Black Sabbath. Dee is an acoustic song with only Randy playing. It was named Dee after Randy's mom, Delores, I think. Suicide Solution has a nice riff in it. Two boys were influenced by this song and they killed themselves. But what it was really about, from Ozzy's point of view, was him drinking himself to death. Mr. Crowley is the second best song on the album, compared to Crazy Train. It was really about Aliester Crowley, a guy who had a birthmark of 666 and killed people. Ozzy heard about him, didn't know who he was and wrote a song along the lines of "Who where you" "What were you about". No Bone Movies was a cool song with a good main riff. Revelation ( Mother Earth ) I don't really listen to about much, but I think it's about the end of the world or something. Steal Away The Night is just much like You Lookin At Me ( Lookin At You ) ( which is on the 2002 remastered version ); they both have kick-butt guitar riffs and solos. // 10

Overall Impression: If I lost the album or if it was stolen from me, I would definately go and re-buy it. The most impressive songs from the album are Crazy Train, I don't Know, Mr. Crowley and Suicide Solution. I can't really compare it to any other albums because I don't really know that many albums that are as good or better that this one, besides Diary Of A Madman, also by Ozzy. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Blizzard Of Ozz Reviewed by: Bat Country 69, on may 27, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: It was 1979 and Ozzy Osbourne was looking to start a band for his solo career. Ozzy heard about a guitarist named Randy Rhoads and asked him to audition. After playing a few scales while warming up, Ozzy stopped Randy and gave him the job immediately, saying Rhoads' playing was like "God entering my life." We can hear exactly what Ozzy was talking about. Randy Rhoads played a unique style of metal in which he mixed classical scales and techniques with metal riffs. The results are orgasmic to the ears. Blizzard of Ozz is known for producing some of Ozzy's most well known songs, including Crazy Train, Mr. Crowley and Suicide Solution. The guitar work in the album is absolutely amazing. Crazy Train features one of Randy's greatest riffs and solos. His solos, based on classical scales and featuring one of his greatest skills, tapping, are a highlight of the album. The album has an extremely dry sound, and the guitar shines through this. Among the album's highlights is Randy's classical playing. The songs Goodbye to Romance, Dee, and Revelation (Mother Earth) are prime examples of Randy's classical playing. On Goodbye to Romance especially, Randy shows his skill at created a fast classical base guitar solo. Dee, a tribute to Randy's mom, is a 50 second acoustic song that is one of the most beautiful pieces of music I've ever heard. A two-pronged metal guitarist, Randy skill also shows in his writing of pure metal riffs. Even the simplest of riffs can be quite difficult to play. Randy utilizes harmonics, feedback, bends and exceptionally fast licks in his riffs. I Don't Know, Suicide Solution, No bone Movies and Steal Away the Night aare based on classic Randy riffs. The rest of the band is excellent as well. While not the best of singers in the technical sense, Ozzy Osbourne is a god at metal singing. His powerful chanting along with Randy's guitar playing drives the majority of the songs. Ozzy can also change his voice to sing ballads, as evidenced in the songs goodbye to Romance and Revelation (Mother Earth). Lee Kerslake does a good job behind the drumset and keeps everthing moving right along. The album's production is pretty poor, and the album doesn't sound like it could have sounded, but this doesn't stop the music from being amazing // 10

Lyrics: The majority of the lyrics on Blizzard of Ozz were written by bassist Bob Daisley. Suicide Solution arguably contains Daisley's most controversial lyrics. The lyrics, which deals with Ozzy's alcoholism, caused a 14 year old to commit suicide after many listens. I Don't Know talks about how people look up to Ozzy like he is someone who has the answers to everything. The two ballads, Goodbye to Romance and Revelation (Mother Earth), have exceptional lyrics. Others are not very good, such as the pornography song no Bone movies. // 9

Overall Impression: Blizzard of Ozz stands as one of the greatest solo metal albums of all time. Crazy Train and Mr. Crowley are metal classics, and the others and also amazing. The album contains some of metal's greatest guitar work and shows the excellence of Randy Rhoads. The production is poor, but this is a must have for any metal fan. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
Comments
BIU:)
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear