The Essential Ozzy Osbourne review by Ozzy Osbourne

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 11, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.8 (5 votes)
Ozzy Osbourne: The Essential Ozzy Osbourne

Sound — 10
Damn, there is one word right there that sums up this compilation, every song is amazing, from the first "all aboard" that Ozzy shouts at the beginning of "Crazy Train" on Disc 1, it never stops. Ozzy has employed some of the best metal guitarist in history, Randy Rhoads is on the first 9 tracks of the album showing why he is a Guitar Legend with classic solos on "Crazy Train" and "Mr. Crowley" and Zakk Wylde from shows why he is Ozzy's guitar player to this day, with that, this music shows why Ozzy is the best example of metal music.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics in this album shows a variety of content, ranging from insanity to lost love. "Goodbye to Romance" is a great song about heartache and optimism, and "Flying High Again" is a song about get high and doing drugs. Although Ozzy hasn't been know to have the best voice in music, sings with a lot of passion and feeling.

Overall Impression — 10
This is not the most complete compilation (such as the "Prince Of Darkness" box set) but it covers Ozzy's greatest hits and that's a freaking awesome thing, every song has contributed to making Ozzy a rock legend. From the early hits to the more resent successes, this is very good for a career spanning compilation.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date