In Retrospect review by Paige 23

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Paige 23: In Retrospect

Sound — 8
The New York City based alternative folk trio Paige 23 gives roots rock music a pounce of alternative country flange and bold doses of blues-rock and acoustic-pop flaunts on the band's sophomore album In Retrospect. Paige 23 whose members consist of lead vocalist/keyboardist Paige, bassist Angelo, and drummer Carmine are known on a first name basis with their audiences. They make organically twilled melodies often sentimental and soothing along country-folk beats. The succor effect of the acoustic guitar strumming on tracks like All I Hear, Alone Again, and Really have alternative country calibrations liken to Carolyn Dawn Johnson and Sara Evans. Paige's vocal slings have a resonance reflective of Rachel Proctor and sultry timbres of another Paige that of Jennifer Paige. In Retrospect, which was produced by Paige and Ray Balconis, effuses the folk-pop decibels of Sara Buxton on tracks like Meteor and 12 To Go with uptempo roots rock bearings on numbers like Difference and Kissing. Paige 23 swabs their acoustic-pop segments with a blues-rock vibe on Do It Again and a smooth jazz arbor throbbing through the title track. The movements build up and diffuse along the melodic lifts and create elegant transitions which give the songs a glossy finery. There is a youthfulness in Paige's vocals liken to JoJo and guitar playing which gives the somber cast of the album an optimistic glint.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are reflective of emotions from past life experiences. Paige tells on the band's website ( that the lyrical themes are about hindsight being 20/20 like in the song Alone Again when she sings, You were everything to me/Now you're just the enemy/Making sure your words have shot me down/But I will still be standing here, waiting for the smoke to clear/Holding up myself from breaking down. Paige's lyrics are feelings she wants to get off her chest and unburden herself of by releasing them and putting them into songs where they are encased.

Overall Impression — 8
Paige 23 is a modern roots rock band with influences of folk, country, soft pop, and blues. From country-folk ballads to mid tempo and uptempo roots rock numbers, Paige 23 keeps their songs motivated with throbbing rhythms and emotive guitar strokes undertoning Paige's sumptuous vocals.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date