Vulgar Display of Power review by Pantera

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 25, 1992
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (134 votes)
Pantera: Vulgar Display of Power

Sound — 10
This album is heavier than any other Pantera album by far. I prefer Cowboys From Hell rather than this album but it is pretty even matched. It is mixed extremely well. Like all of Pantera's songs, all the songs have something to do with hate plain and simple thus making it an amazing album to mosh and trash stuff to. This album would force dance fans to love metal forever!

Lyrics — 10
What can I say? The best metal singer of all time. The only instance where you don't like the vocals is if you don't like metal, period.

Overall Impression — 8
Songs that really stand out for me would include Mouth For War, Walk, Rise, Regular People and Hollow. Now that's five songs out of eleven that really stand out...that alone should make you buy the album! The solos are just as scary in this album than in Cowboys and Phil's singing hasn't really changed (which is a good thing) although he has cut down on the amount of screaming. Superb album which ANY metal fan must have!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date