Ten (Reissue) review by Pearl Jam

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 24, 2009
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (7 votes)
Pearl Jam: Ten (Reissue)

Sound — 8
Important to note that two different versions of this product exist; the deluxe and legacy editions. Both have remastered the songs from the original as well as including six new tracks. The deluxe includes Pearl Jam's Unplugged concert setlist, including Oceans (which was not originally released on the show). Overall, O'Brien took the original album's mix and took a more direct approach with it. Vedder's lyrics come across in a smoother fashion, his voice much more defined and pronounced than it was on the original album. Jeff Ament's bass riffs and the background guitar rhythms are also more pronounced on the album. Of the six new tracks, Brother and State of Love and Trust possess the arena-rock-riffs-meet-Seattle-Sound that so well defined the original album. 2000 Mile Blues sticks true to it's name, featuring an eerie sounding blues riff/progression that goes along oddly with Eddie's singing style. 2000 Mile Blues actually sounds a little out of place on the album, almost like it was an attempt to show their bluesy side. Breath and a Scream sounds right at home on Ten, an excellent song utilizing the louder-softer method implied by grunge bands during the period.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics for the original tracks are the same, but made far more powerful by the excellent remastered delivery. Vedder's screams are more pronounced, and his unique style is nicely complemented in this remastering. The new tracks expand over a wide range of topics, though none of them are new to Pearl Jam fans and certainly represent Eddie's mood during the original Ten sessions. State of Love and Trust rose out of Eddie's viewing of Singles, and is a simple song based on his views of the film. Brother is another Eddie song featuring adversity, and was originally an instrumental track released with lyrics for this remastering. Eddie's singing delivery on the newer tracks are as raw as the original Ten items and fit along very well with them.

Overall Impression — 9
This compilation is a must for all Pearl Jam fans. The CD set runs a little pricey, but for anyone looking to really get into the band (or a true fan who just wants the newer songs and the excellent detailed booklet that comes along with it) the package is a very good buy. In the deluxe set (which runs five to ten dollars more than the legacy one, depending on where it is purchased) contains the Pearl Jam Unplugged concert, which is another excellent reason to buy this album. Overall, the remastering is worth the money. If you've lost the original Ten album, or are just looking for an expansion, the Remastered is worth the buy.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    i LOVE this remastered album...they were smart in doing something like this. i honestly didn't think you could do anything else to make this album better but i was proven wrong.